OMA Logo

May 9, 2024

Obesity Medicine Association Announces the 2024 OMA Award Winners

Share this post

2024 Award Winners Blog Image

The Obesity Medicine Association (OMA) announced its 2024 Award Winners at the recent Obesity Medicine 2024 conference in Denver, CO this April. The six OMA Awards are presented annually at the annual spring conference to clinicians whose outstanding achievements are deserving of special recognition.

ABOM Candidate of the Year Award

Presented to the OMA member who scored the highest on the American Board of Obesity Medicine Certification Examination

Recipient: Joseph Brewster, MD
Joseph Brewster

The Steelman-Seim Educator Award for Excellence in Academics

For excellence in academics

Recipient: Sylvia Gonsahn-Bollie, MD, DABOM, FOMA
Sylvia Gonsahn-Bollie

Dr. Vernon B. Astler Award

Recipient: Emily Weaver, MSN, AGPCNP-C
Emily Weaver

Committee Leadership Award

Recipient: Rebecca Andrick, DO, DABOM, FOMA
Rebecca Andrick

Dr. Peter G Lindner Award

Recipient: Shagun Bindlish, MD, FACP, DABOM, DACLM
Shagun Bindlish

Dr. Raymond E. Dietz Meritorious Service Award

Recipient: Justin Tondt, MD
Justin Tondt

Dr. William B. McCarthy Clinician of the Year

Recipient: Verlyn Warrington, MD, MS, FOMA
Verlyn Warrington